Back to Bondservant

“Will any one of you who has a servant plowing or keeping sheep say to him when he has come in from the field, ‘Come at once and recline at the table?’ Will he not rather say to him, ‘Prepare supper for me, and dress properly, and serve me while I eat and drink and afterward you will eat and drink’? Does he thank the servant because he did what was commanded? So you also, when you have done all that you were commanded, say, ‘We are unworthy servants; we have only done what was our duty.’” –Luke 17:7-10 ESV

I have gone through many seasons of learning God’s various characteristics and roles in my life. I went through seasons in high school where I learned that He is truly our closest and best Friend. I learned Him to be my Love, where He wooed me constantly with His Love Letter to me (the Bible). I found Him to be the Source of deep peace that passes all understanding. He is the Sovereign one over all life. He is Redeemer who can save me from my sins and the temptations that come my way. He is Forgiver. Restorer. The One who puts desires in your heart and later fulfills them. I learned to be the clay in His Potter’s hands. All of these different aspects of the Lord, I have learned throughout various times in my life.

Today, I am realizing that He is taking me back to that Master, servant relationship.

It is so easy to lose sight of God as Alpha and Omega, the King of kings and Lord of lords, the Highest of all and Almighty God. I tend to try to see in the certain aspects listed above. Sometimes I want the lovey dovey feelings of Jesus’ love to be what I experience. Sometimes I want Him as the fulfiller of my desires. Sometimes I want Him as Friend, but oftentimes, I’m forgetting how great He is and how small I am. I am forgetting my own role as a bondservant.

As a servant, there is no break or time for self. There is no “Thank you for doing exactly that you should be doing.” There is no “I’m tired,” “I’ll do it later,” or “I don’t want to.” There is no room for selfishness. There is only room to obey the commands laid out for you.

Is a servant worthy of sitting at the Master’s table before the Master has eaten? Certainly not. Am I worthy to relax or do what I want while God has said, “It’s time to do this”? Absolutely not.

Lord, when I forget all that You have done for me, and all that You’ve called me to, remind me of the Cross. Remind me that You came as a babe in a lowly manger. That you walked blameless and un-thanked for many years.   You did exactly what was laid out before You to do with the perfect attitude.   You allowed Your creation to bruise, beat and brutally hang You upon the Cross. You gave Your life up for all who are unworthy. You were the Ultimate Sacrifice, and sometimes I don’t want to sacrifice my own wants. You were the Ultimate Servant, and oftentimes I want to be served. Renew my mind by Your Word. Refresh my soul to serve. Remind me of Yourself, Lord.

Leave a Reply

