Welcoming Baby

We’ve been a quite quiet on here, but as always, we’ve been pretty busy. This time, we’re busy with a new little life in our home. 

 James Robert was born on January 15th, 3 weeks and 2 days early.  Here’s the story, the quick version:


After having Braxton Hicks contractions for over an hour and unsure if my fluid was leaking, I was sent to triage on January 12th. It was supposed to be a fluke. I didn’t even have my bags packed yet! 

My water wasn’t leaking, the contractions weren’t worrisome, but my blood pressure was through the roof and I was admitted. I wasn’t going home pregnant. This was it, the baby was coming out and life would never be the same again. In the best way possible. 

Joking that morning to Brandon, I said it’d be a great day to go into labor. I wasn’t serious. But here I was in a hospital gown getting wheeled over to a room. It wasn’t supposed to happen like this. My water was supposed to break! I was supposed to be completely ready and prepared! I was supposed to have two more baby showers and a week off of work to prepare my head for all of this! 

Long story short, after many efforts to dilate, it just wasn’t working. And after 62 hours, I was tired. And still not dilated. On Sunday morning, my doctor walked into my room, which had a big giant sign out front that read : high anxiety and no c section! (Ok, there wasn’t a literal sign, but after being in there for three days – Thursday to Sunday – every nurse and doctor knew me.) Dr Piccone came in and said, well I think it’s time for a c section. Too tired from not sleeping for those days, being hooked up to all kinds of stuff, blood pressure checks every 15 minutes for 3 days, and just wanting to finally meet our boy, I knew it was time. 


The way James came into this world was a surprise to me. It wasn’t according to my plan. But it wasn’t a surprise to God. He knew I’d be in the hospital for 3 days trying to dilate. He knew I’d eventually need a c section. He knew James would be weeks early. He knew James would spend a week in the NICU. But He is a good God and His plan was far better than my own. 

I had perfect nurses during those 3 days before James was born. They were hand picked by God for me. I had time to heal from the surgery before I had to care for James. I saw His goodness through it all and His presence was evident throughout that whole week. 

His goodness and presence has been evident throughout the weeks following as well. (Thank you to all who called, texted, prayed, visited, brought dinner and blessed us with your care!)

Today, James has been home for exactly one month, and my mind is finally catching up to the reality of having a baby, and all that being a mom entails. As  my music-loving baby is asleep in my arms, and as Elevation Worship and Kari Jobe fill the silence, my heart is truly rejoicing and my soul is worshipping. I am so glad that Jesus chose us to raise this sweet boy, and I’m excited to share some of the things I learn about the Lord as I embark on this new journey as ‘mom.’ (No, this is not going to be another mommy blog, but as we share what the Lord is doing in our lives, He is sure to use this boy to show us more of His heart, as he already has.)  

God is a better author than I.  He wrote this new chapter of our lives already, with the pen of grace. Welcome to this beautiful world, James. 

Leave a Reply

